Mark Wallace

Mark Wallace, Ph.D Laboratory Director

Director, Vanderbilt
Brain Institute

Current Members

Alumni

Pictures

Party

Mentoring Future Generations!

 

Current Members

MarkMark Wallace

Laboratory Director
Director, Vanderbilt Brain Institute
mark.wallace@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory processing, development and plasticity, developmental disabilities

Has been known to: herd cats... in both the figurative and literal sense.

Curriculum Vitae

Walter Walter Lee

Research Assistant I (Lab Manager)

walter.h.lee@Vanderbilt.Edu

Research Interests: Multisensory processing and developmental disorders

Has been known to: keep the lab together.

Beth Beth Sims

Assistant to the Director

beth.sims@vanderbilt.edu

Responsibilities: oversees the calendars and travel for Mark Wallace along with coordinating all Neuroscience seminars and student travel.

Has been known to: juggle multiple projects while keeping a smile on her face.

Sarah Sarah Baum

Post-doctoral Fellow

sarah.h.baum@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: multisensory processing across the lifespan, neuroimaging, behavioral and neural variability

Has been known to: make decisions based on the availability of food.

Curriculum Vitae

Antonia Antonia Thelen

Post-doctoral fellow

antonia.thelen@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Spatio-temporal mechanisms underpinning auditory-visual integration across space.

Has been known to: speaks 7 different languages.

Curriculum Vitae

Dips Matt De Niear

MSTP Student

matthew.a.de.niear@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: perceptual learning, multisensory plasticity, and neuroimaging of clinical populations

Has been known to: argue about the pronunciation of words like coffee and dog.

Juli Juliane Krueger Fister

Graduate Student

juliane.krueger@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests:functional connectivity of the anterior ectosylvian sulcus and its effects on behavior and perception

Has been known to: talk too loud.

Juli LeAnne Kurela

Graduate Student

leanne.r.kurela@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests:Multisensory integration and processing in awake and behaving animals, coding and functional connectivity in the brain

Has been known to: run from lab to lab across campus multiple times a day.

Aaron Aaron Nidiffer

Graduate Student

aaron.r.nidiffer@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory integration in the awake and behaving cat, auditory development and plasticity

Has been known to: have reaction times faster than normal.

Justin Justin Siemann

Graduate Student

justin.k.siemann@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory integration and deficits in developmental disorders

Has been known to: repeatedly win debates about college football with colleagues.

Tiffany Tiffany Woynaroski

Graduate Student
Speech Pathologist

tiffany.g.woynaroski@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: using multisensory integration to clarify the nature of developmental disorders and to predict long-term outcomes

Has been known to: get caught binging on candy and Diet Coke at all hours of the day.

Iliza Iliza Butera

Graduate Student

iliza.butera@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: electrophysiology and multisensory processing in patients with cochlear implants.

Has been known to: experiment.

Andrea Andrea Hillock Dunn

Assistant Professor
Assistant Director of Pediatric Audiology

andrea.h.dunn@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: multisensory processing, development, and plasticity

Has been known to:perform renditions of America's favorite red monster, Elmo.

Lauren Lauren Bryant

Graduate Student

lauren.k.bryant@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: multisensory processing, autism spectrum disorder, somatosensory and auditory processing, neuroimaging, and psychophysics

Has been known to: have wacky hairstyles.

Joseph Joseph J. Schlesinger, M. D.

Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine

joseph.j.schlesinger@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: multisensory integration, human factors, aural perception, temporal precision, alarm development, patient monitoring, and medical education.

Has been known to: not have any music from this century on his iPod.

Kelly Kelly Jahn

Audiology Student

kelly.n.jahn@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory processing in adults and children with cochlear implants.

Has been known to: make really good March Madness brackets... Go UConn!

DavidDavid Simon

Graduate Student

david.m.simon@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: the relationship between sensory processing and functional deficits in Autism Spectrum Disorder and typical development.

Has been known to: know everything about fish tanks.

JeanJean-Paul Noel

Graduate Student

jean-paul.noel@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Spatio-temporal proprieties of multisensory (audio-somatosensory, visuo-somatosensory, and audio-visual) integration across space (depth primarily).

Has been known to: Write super generic Research Interest statements.

GabiGabriella DiCarlo

MSTP Student

gabriella.e.dicarlo@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: role of oscillatory patterns of neurons in schizophrenia, autism, and epilepsy; anomalies in rhythm-generating networks of the brain and impact on multisensory integration; optogenetic manipulation of cortical circuitry underlying multisensory integration.

Has been known to: laugh out loud & successfully "jump" over lab chairs.

SarahG Sarah Greenberg

Undergraduate

sarah.e.greenberg@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: EEG and multisensory processing, with an interest in autism spectrum disorder.

Has been known to: steal all of Justin's popcorn.

Pranjal Pranjal Gupta

Undergraduate

pranjal.b.gupta@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory plasticity in autism, multisensory processing and feedback learning.

Has been known to: make YouTube videos in an attempt to get famous.

Mara Mara Rivera

Undergraduate

mara.a.rivera@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory processing and Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Has been known to: Take Tango classes on the weekends.

Claudia Claudia Varela Patiño

Undergraduate, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

cdvarela@uc.cl

Research Interests: multisensory processing and developmental disorders such as autism spectrum disorder, dyslexia and ADHD.

Has been known to: slip in Spanish words when speaking English.

Qing Qing Qing Zheng

Undergraduate

qing.q.zheng@vanderbilt.edu

Research Interests: multisensory integration, movement disorders such as Parkinson's Disease

Has been known to: eat. Also, likes to chase and take photos of squirrels.

DianaT Diana Torres

Undergraduate, Rutgers University

dlt85@rutgers.edu

Research Interests: Multisensory processing and how this is affected in developmental disorders.

Has been known to: Get overly excited when her soccer team scores.